bottling issues

Mashing, fly sparging, batch sparging, dry hopping, late additions. Have an idea you want to bounce or stop by and share your experiences here.

Moderator: Post Moderators

Otterbaub

bottling issues

Post by Otterbaub »

Hey guys,
For my past two batches Ive had issues with my carbonation. The issue is that beyond a mild effervescence there is no Co2. I don't really care, il drink good beer how ever it is served warm, cold, out of a boot doesn't matter to me. My friends chief complaint is the Co2 or lack there of. so here are the facts:
last batch i bottled this current batch i legged in a Cornie
i am a Nazi when it comes to cleaning and sanitizing.
the last two batches have been extracts
one of which was a German honey blond
the other a new castle clone (recipe reads old castle)
All of my batches in NY came out perfect (when i lived there) now im in CA
the only thing i can come up with is maybe im not heating my priming sugar and water hot enough
im a Chef/Baker so i know my procedure is accurate and to the letter
Any thoughts are welcome
Beer is like bread just in different ratios.
backyard brewer

Post by backyard brewer »

How much sugar are you using for what size batch? How long are you waiting for carbonation and at what temp?

When I bottled and sugar primed, I found it was important to add my dissolved sugar to the bottom of my empty bottling bucket and then rack the beer on top. I would make sure that the hose would create a slight whirlpool to facilitate a thorough mixing of the priming sugar. That doesn't sound like your problem though, since you didn't mention that some of the bottles were over-carbed. Usually with inconsistent mixing, some of the bottles are gushers or flat out exploders.
kevinham

Post by kevinham »

Backyard Brewer wrote:How much sugar are you using for what size batch? How long are you waiting for carbonation and at what temp? ...