My new Contraption

Oh yes! Everything you ever wanted to know about equipment or ask about equipment, this is the place to be! Share photos or ideas about equipment here.

Moderator: Post Moderators

beerGuardin

My new Contraption

Post by beerGuardin »

A contraption I have been building for a few years now. Finally had some vacation and spent it tinkering and building. Not an original idea by any means. Someone else coined the acronym SIMM (steam infusion mash mixer. http://www.spykman.com/simm/simm.html)

This is a mash tun with an automatic mixer and steam infusion for temperataure maintenance. I have only tested it with water and it seems to be able to keep temperature pretty constant. I can't wait to use it! Finally, back into all grain after a long hiatus.....

http://picasaweb.google.com/morrison.pa ... directlink
maltbarley

Re: My new Contraption

Post by maltbarley »

Very cool! I suppose the temp controller is next weekend?
lexuschris

Post by lexuschris »

Cool contraption! Steam-tech, I love it!

Looking forward to a report after your next batch! :happybeer:
--LexusChris
"A woman drove me to drink, and I hadn't even the courtesy to thank her." – W.C. Fields
dhempy

Post by dhempy »

Aha .. another enginerd in our midst ... be sure to bring a propeller hat to the meeting so that we can have our breakout group.

Very cool device indeed.

How does the ash do for staying clean?

Dan
JonGoku

Post by JonGoku »

What keeps the motor/lid from turning instead of the paddles? You said you tested it in water, but obviously the resistance of a proper mash would be much more then just water. I'm pretty sure you've thought of it, but just in case you hadn't, you might want to do something before you test it with a mash. One idea is you could make two groves in the lid that correspond with the groves you made in the keg top and insert some flat scrap metal like illustrated below.
Jon Image
beerGuardin

Post by beerGuardin »