Mold/Contamination on top of carboy

This is an open forum to discuss all things that just might be on your mind.

Moderators: Post Moderators, Cheers Moderator

speck

Mold/Contamination on top of carboy

Post by speck »

I have a question and I have just found and joined in the fun here. I recently took the leap with my first batch of all grain - a delicious chocalate porter. I almost drank it before I pitched the yeast. I have been brewing for several years now (at least 10 batches and have never had a problem with contamination) I am a clean freak. Right when I was pulling the chiller out of my wort and going to siphon off the trub into the carboy, my neighbor came over and got inthe way so I may have grabbed a dirty spoon or something, not sure. Somewhere I screwed up I think. Anyway, after 2 weeks in the secondary, and at bottling time I pulled the cover off the carboy and there was white mold in the neck of the carboy (3/4 inch of headspace under cap). There is also a 1/4 inch layer of cloudy white on top in the neck also. Am I on the right track in my diagnosis or could it be something else. Should I bother going ahead and bottling it or just pitch it? Normaly I ferment and rack the beer upstairs in the kitchen but this I did downstairs. It is slightly damper and a very slight mildew smell in the basement, but the temperature is much more constant at 70F versus 65-75 fluctuations upstairs. Could this have contributed to this disaster in any way? :( :( :( :(
Thanks guys
dhempy

Re: Mold/Contamination on top of carboy

Post by dhempy »

Hi Speck:

You're sure this isn't residual krausen from the fermentation? How vigorous was the fermentation? Did your air-lock blow off or get full of krausen?

Dan
jward

Post by jward »