pitching at bottling

Mashing, fly sparging, batch sparging, dry hopping, late additions. Have an idea you want to bounce or stop by and share your experiences here.

Moderator: Post Moderators

bsmith

pitching at bottling

Post by bsmith »

hello - i'm a fairly new brewer (10 extract batches) and really starting to love the hobby. this is my first time on this forum and hoping to get some advice. i just brewed an ale that had an unusually high OG (1.096) that i did not expect, and looking for recommendations on pitching additional yeast at bottling time (or before?).
i brewed a beglian red ale "abbey rose": 8 lbs light pale male (4 lbs 60 min boil / 4 lbs added at 25 min left in boil), 1 lb dingemans special b (30 min steep @ 160), 1 oz crystal 3.8% bittering full boil, 1 oz crystal 3.8% finishing 20 min, 1 oz dried rose hips 20 min left in boil, wlp550 with 1 liter starter pitched at full krausen.

when i measured the gravity prior to pitching, i couldn't believe the OG was so high but was excited to see what would happen. i thought at the time that the 550 in a one liter starter would be enough to take care of business, but after reading into it (and after i tossed the yeast cake from primary - doh!), it appears i underpitched. i racked to a glass carboy secondary after 7 days, in which the gravity was still very high at 1.054. i plan on letting it sit in the secondary for 3 weeks or more, but measuring the gravity in a couple weeks to see where it's at. i feel that i may want to pitch another vial of 550, but is this recommended? if i pitch into the secondary, is it ok to pitch without oxygenating? if i pitch at bottling, would i want to pitch the whole vial and sugar and would i have to worry about bottle explosions? just curious what advice others may have. thanks!

bsmith
BrewMasterBrad
Pro Brewer

Post by BrewMasterBrad »