Oak aging questions

Mashing, fly sparging, batch sparging, dry hopping, late additions. Have an idea you want to bounce or stop by and share your experiences here.

Moderator: Post Moderators

brahn
Site Admin

Oak aging questions

Post by brahn »

At the party last week Oskaar mentioned that the Santa's Helper I brought we be good with some oak. I think I'm going to give it a shot with the second keg, but I've never done any wood aging before and I've got a bunch of questions.

First off, the beer's already kegged and carbonated. I saw a post on here a few years ago from Rezzin that he was going to add oak to a carbonated beer but he didn't say how it went. I think it will probably be ok though.

What's your preferred form of oak? Chips, Cubes, Spirals? I plan on steam sanitizing since I'm not really looking for a whiskey flavor or to add any additional alcohol to the beer. How much oak should I use and how long should it soak in the beer?

Since it's a German style beer I'm thinking about staying on the continent for the wood, so either French or Hungarian. I'd still be open to American, but I don't really know what to expect from the different types of wood.

Finally, I"m not sure what kind of toast to go with. What kind of different flavors should I expect to get as the toast gets darker?
jward

Re: Oak aging questions

Post by jward »

I don't have much experience to speak from but did get cubes. I like the proclaimed benefit of the regular surface area providing more linear, predictable, and repeatable outcome. I guess that's mostly compared to chips.

I would be careful with carbonated beer. The oak will provide lots an nucleation sites and you might get a big mess.
dhempy

Post by dhempy »

Last time I did any oak it was cubes, in secondary, and a stout .. I doused 'em with a little vodka first. Medium as I recall. Turned out good but I think I should've let 'em sit longer to extract more flavor.