Broken chest freezer

Oh yes! Everything you ever wanted to know about equipment or ask about equipment, this is the place to be! Share photos or ideas about equipment here.

Moderator: Post Moderators

BrewMasterBrad
Pro Brewer

Broken chest freezer

Post by BrewMasterBrad »

My old chest freezer stopped working this week. It does nothing at all when plugged in. I am not an expert on these things, I just expect them to work. I am thinking that it could be something electrical that is easy to fix. Do these things have some sort of built in breaker or fuse that can be replaced? If that is the issue, I would much rather fix this thing myself than buy a new one.
I saw a werewolf drinking a pina colada down at Trader Vic's
maltbarley

Re: Broken chest freezer

Post by maltbarley »

BrewMasterBrad wrote:Do these things have some sort of built in breaker or fuse that can be replaced?
Probably not. Sometimes the wiring diagram is pasted to equipment cover so you can use your volt meter to trace the power. But, my guess is that the evap coil corroded, refrigerant leaked, and the pressure switch shut the system down.
dhempy

Post by dhempy »

Occasionally the compressors on these things will stop in a location that takes extra oomph to start. This can trip a GFI (ask me how I know) or a breaker. Have you checked that you do indeed have power at the end of your cord? Also as an aside ... I think that either my ferm fridge or ferm freezer throws off some frequencies that interfere with my X10 lights as they turn on at weird times of the day. My preliminary research leads me to these devices (they are common "noisemakers").

If your freezer is indeed old, you're probably better off replacing it than trying a repair. And if there is a leak and it is in the cooling loop, fuggitaboudit, you're toast.

Dan
oc eric

Post by oc eric »

Tom Hodge - 714.791.1635

He fixed my fridge at the shop.
An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk with his fools. - Hemingway
JonW