Hi-Times Kits

A place to discuss all things related to brewing ingredients.

Moderator: Post Moderators

Second Home

Hi-Times Kits

Post by Second Home »

Hello Everyone. I am new to BC and have about 12-15 batches of brew under my belt. I learning a ton every time I brew and I still have a long way to go. I’m really looking forward to meeting everyone on Brew Commune and learning a lot from each other. The reason for this post is tell all of you an interesting story. Last night I had some friends over to brew 10 gallons of a Belgian Wit. I normally buy my kits from Steinfillers but as most of you are probably aware, they are closed Monday and Tuesday and I was unable to get the kits that I wanted last minute so I went down to Hi-Times. When I opened the first bag of grain, we noticed a TON of bugs in it. Probably 500-700 little tiny black bugs. We called the guy who puts the kits together for Hi-Times and we was nice enough to put together some fresh grain for us and deliver it straight to my house but I just want everyone to be aware when they buy Kits from Hi-Times to open their kit up and check before leaving the store so you’re not in the same position we were. It put us very behind schedule but never the less, we have brew a brewing! =)

Brandon
To good Friends, Good Times, and Good Brew!
backyard brewer

Post by backyard brewer »

Yikes! Thanks for the heads up and welcome to the board.
maltbarley

Post by maltbarley »

Welcome.

I thought that guy was no longer making those kits for them. I'm surprised that Hi-Times still sells the kits.
brew captain

Post by brew captain »

Welcome to the board!

It seems this was a good year for grain weevils for some reason. I had weevils when I brewed a witbier a few weeks ago. I thought it was my grain so I went through all of it and not a weevil to be found (even in my older grains). Turned out they were in my flaked oats instead. The brew turned out fine even if the protein level is a bit high. :wink: