How to make fruit beer...

A place to discuss all things related to brewing ingredients.

Moderator: Post Moderators

Brewski

How to make fruit beer...

Post by Brewski »

hey guys, i'm new to this whole brewing thing... just brewed my first batch about a week ago. it tastes great, but with lower alcohol content than i expected. i'm guessing that is due to weak fermentation, as the bubbles through my airlock weren't as aggressive as i expected. not aggressive at all actually, only about a bubble every second or two which lasted for a few days....

anyways, i'm about to start up batch number two and i was thinking about doing a blueberry beer. i have the flavoring that is supposed to be added at bottling, but was wondering if anyone had some tips for more natural blueberry flavor. i have some dried wild blueberries that i was thinking about steeping in the wort, and some real blueberries that i was thinking about pureeing and adding to a secondary fermenter. on my first batch i only did a primary fermentation, but i do have two buckets so i was thinking i'd get a little creative this time. the two buckets are both 6.5 gallon plastic buckets, and i realize this isn't ideal for a secondary fermenter but do you think this would work? i would like to keep the initial recipe pretty basic so i don't mess with the primary fermentation since this is when the alcohol is made and i don't want to run into the same problem as last time. i'm thinking that if i do a secondary fermentation then i can add the natural blueberries in to that and let it sit for a few days... hopefully providing a more natural blueberry flavor.

alright i just kinda rambled a bit, any feedback would be welcome. thanks.
Jared

"Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants to see us happy" - Benjamin Franklin
Rezzin

Post by Rezzin »

I've never brewed a fruit beer before but I did just skim through Brewing Classic Styles and here are few tips from the fruit beer section: