Hello from Ryan!

This is an open forum to discuss all things that just might be on your mind.

Moderators: Post Moderators, Cheers Moderator

OCBrewin

Hello from Ryan!

Post by OCBrewin »

Hey all,

I just joined this forum and am thinking of joining the Club. I have wanted to join one for some time, but just never found one near me really. A little background:

My name is Ryan and I've been brewing for about 5 years or so, 3 years all-grain. I love the hobby and can't help but get deeper and deeper into it every time a batch goes through my system. Luckily I have a supportive wife who also enjoys the product of the hobby, just not the stick mess every time that is tracked through the house. Originally from North County San Diego (Fallbrook), I have been living in the Newport Beach / Huntington Beach area since 2004. I am a Structural Engineer by profession, have a wonderful wife, Bre, and dog named Rasta.

My current set up includes two gas fired keggles for the HLT and BK, and a 10 gallon round cooler MLT with false bottom. I also have a contraption that I built and will share with anyone interested that houses my PID, March Pump and several other components for my RIMS system inside a very compact toolbox. I can't say that I brew any typical styles, as I really like them all! Right now we have an IPA, a Pumpkin Ale and a Cream Ale on tap - with a Berliner Weisse, English Cider, Hoppy Red, Choc. Cherry Porter, and Rye Pale in queue in various fermenters.

I am really interested in becoming part of a more organized form of brewing and would really love to start entering some beers into competitions for feedback. I feel that I am at the point were some unbiased and experienced opinions (i.e. - not just friends that come over for free beer...) are really what I need to expand my skills. Sorry for the long-winded introduction! Happy brewing!! :happybeer:
dhempy

Re: Hello from Ryan!

Post by dhempy »

Welcome Ryan! Glad to have you aboard!

Dan
JonW
Site Admin